creativemarama

creating beautiful journals and books

pastepaper

paste paper - Marama

Using wheat paste to decorate paper gives a 3D quality

Today I’ve been experimenting with pastepaper to use as covers for my books and because we will be playing with ways to decorate paper in my workshop next week. I painted a two colour background on some 250gsm cartridge paper, let it dry, and then painted the wheat paste on top (more information below). To make the patterns on the sheet above, I used a piece of  mount board with ‘teeth’ cut at one end and dragged it through the paste layer, exposing the colours beneath.

Different tools create different effects. You never know what might appear:

handmade paste paper

For this one I used the coloured paste on handmade paper and made patterns with my finger and a fork.

paste paper#3

I used a plastic fork and a comb to make these lines over a painted background.

I made up the simplest flour and water recipe I could find to make the paste and added acrylic paint for colour. You might need to be more thorough if you want archival quality.

Cornell Book Arts Club has an excellent PDF with all the information you will need at:

http://www.library.cornell.edu/preservation/bookarts/documents/cbac_pastepaper.pdf

One comment on “pastepaper

  1. thefiberwire
    September 26, 2014

    Great designs!

Leave a Reply

Information

This entry was posted on August 5, 2013 by in Art, Bookmaking, Journals, My Portfolio, My Workshops, Print making.
Rejectamenta

Dr Emma Powell

Coastal Farm Escape

Share our alternative lifestyle

The Fiber Wire

Plugged in and turned on. All paper. All the time.

Helene's Lists

A topnotch WordPress.com site

Pearl Button Bridal

recreating beauty one pearl button at a time

ART EXPEDITION

an adventure into contemporary art and puppetry

creativemarama

creating beautiful journals and books

