creativemarama

creating beautiful journals and books

More fans and fan books

After my last post, I had some good feedback about the students’ fans and my own fan book. Here are images of more fans and fan books. I made these for an exhibition in Escape ARTfest last year.

More of my fan books and fans

Some of my fan books and fans

Fans books are fun to make and I love the way the image ripples with the concertina folding. The secret is to use a strong, light paper and make very crisp folds. Hold the folds securely at the bottom. You can see from the photographs above that I have experimented with different methods to do this. When I use text (from my poems) some words are slightly obscured which adds a touch of mystery.

Fan books work well on a small scale as well as a large scale. Last year I made a very large fan for the living room wall using an exquisite pale pink Japanese paper. It has faded beautifully.

2 comments on “More fans and fan books

  1. fairytaleepidemic
    April 28, 2013

    Those are beautiful.

  2. caralanlan
    April 28, 2013

    Just beautiful. The large wall one sounds amazing :)

Leave a Reply

Information

This entry was posted on April 28, 2013 by in Art, Bookmaking, My Portfolio, My Workshops, Poetry, Print making.
Rejectamenta

Dr Emma Powell

Coastal Farm Escape

Share our alternative lifestyle

The Fiber Wire

Plugged in and turned on. All paper. All the time.

Helene's Lists

A topnotch WordPress.com site

Pearl Button Bridal

recreating beauty one pearl button at a time

ART EXPEDITION

an adventure into contemporary art and puppetry

creativemarama

creating beautiful journals and books

