creativemarama

creating beautiful journals and books

Letterpress Print shop closed for Pasifika

I have been away from my blog for a few weeks and over that time I have been in Auckland. While I was there I planned to visit the NZ Association of Book Crafts print shop in Motat at Western Springs where they run workshops and make books.

The Association of Book Crafts' print shop at MOTAT in Auckland. NZ.

I have been a member of this excellent and dynamic association for the past seven years. The day I went, the print shop was closed due to Pasifika, the biggest Polynesian festival in the world. I took these photographs of the printery from the outside and through the window. I dream about playing in there one day.

I'd love to get my hands on that type!

I’d love to get my hands on that type!

I wandered happily around Western Springs soaking up the warmth, colour and sounds of  Pasifika. Here are some photographs to give you a taste of what it was like.

A dancer from Tuvalu

A dancer from Tuvalu

Cook Island Village

Cook Island Village at Pasifika in Auckland.

Women plaiting flax to make hats and 'rope'.

Women plaiting flax to make hats and ‘rope’.

More photos from Auckland’s Pasifika Festival at

https://www.facebook.com/PasifikaFestival/photos_stream

2 comments on “Letterpress Print shop closed for Pasifika

  1. Alan
    April 7, 2013

    Looks like fun Marama :) I’m sure you would have a ball in there too.

    Cheers Alan

  2. Moo
    April 7, 2013

    I wonder if you might have met or seen some of cousins work? Dagmar Dyke http://nzprintmakers.blogspot.com.au/2013/03/dagmar-dyck-sheyne-tuffery-21mar-16apr.html

Leave a Reply

Information

This entry was posted on April 7, 2013 by in Art, Bookmaking, Dreams, Print making.
Rejectamenta

Dr Emma Powell

Coastal Farm Escape

Share our alternative lifestyle

The Fiber Wire

Plugged in and turned on. All paper. All the time.

Helene's Lists

A topnotch WordPress.com site

Pearl Button Bridal

recreating beauty one pearl button at a time

ART EXPEDITION

an adventure into contemporary art and puppetry

creativemarama

creating beautiful journals and books

