creativemarama

creating beautiful journals and books

Altered Books

Marama - Old Greek Nature StoriesOn my recent Brisbane trip I was lucky to spend time at the State Library of Queensland with Helen who showed me a selection from their famous collection of artists’ books. They have an excellent website with a virtual exhibition of artists’ books and student and teacher resources. http://www.slq.qld.gov.au/

Their collection contains some brilliant altered books including Kylie Stillman’s Dusky Robin, which is also featured in the current Altered Books Exhibition at the NSW State Library. I saw this exhibition in Sydney last week and loved it. It runs until 24th June. Here is the link to the exhibition.
http://www.sl.nsw.gov.au/events/exhibitions/2012/recycled_library/index.html

Now I am inspired to play with some old books that have been drifting around the house and here are two examples of what I’ve been doing.

Marama - altered pages

2 comments on “Altered Books

  1. kerrie smith
    June 22, 2012

    Marama, love the blog. I especially like the idea of altered books – so accessible and a great way to be able to keep all those books I just can’t part with and give them a new life/meaning. Happy creating. Kerrie S

  2. artexpectations
    September 6, 2012

    I love altered books too! Well, pretty much all kinds of art. I will go and look at some of your other ones. Check mine out on my blog. Thanks!

Leave a Reply

Information

This entry was posted on June 19, 2012 by in Altered books, Art, Bookmaking, My Portfolio.
Rejectamenta

Dr Emma Powell

Coastal Farm Escape

Share our alternative lifestyle

The Fiber Wire

Plugged in and turned on. All paper. All the time.

Helene's Lists

A topnotch WordPress.com site

Pearl Button Bridal

recreating beauty one pearl button at a time

ART EXPEDITION

an adventure into contemporary art and puppetry

creativemarama

creating beautiful journals and books

